You Can’t Hurry Bread

2 Dec

BR buttered

You can’t hurry bread,

No, you just have to wait

She said bread don’t come easy

It’s a game of knead and wait.

Well let’s be fair, bread and love are remarkably similar.  When done properly they both fill you with warmth and make all that is bad disappear and like all good things they take time to get right.  In as much as my twenty-five year old self would have loved to tell  my fifteen year old self to be patient and that love would happen, my thirty-five year old self would love to travel back to my twenty-five year old self standing over a loaf that only a dwarf would be happy to eat and tell her that it would all be okay.  One day.

You see bread has always been a bit of a problem for me.  I never quite got the hang of the kneading, proving, rising, waiting quasi-religious steps that other people took for granted.  My bread has always been a heavy let down.  There was even the time I tried to make a sour dough starter from scratch.  It looked good, had the right texture, but it was sour .  No, seriously, so sour it got spat out and we couldn’t eat it.  I’ve heard every joke about my bread breaking plates and being used as doorstops and yet, while I could manage some really tricky culinary tasks, bread has managed to elude me.  Then about two months ago I had a revelation.  I was eating a calzone and the corner was light and fluffy and soft and EVERYTHING bread should be.  So I took the  pizza dough recipe I had used for the calzone and tried to make bread with it.

It worked.

I tried again and it worked again.

I tried it the third time and wouldn’t you know it, it worked again.

I now have my very own bread recipe steps that I’m sticking to with all the fervour and zeal of the newly converted.  And as is the want of the newly converted, I’m sharing it with you.

BR IngI’m always amazed at how few ingredients bread needs; take:

  • 500 gm of bread flour
  • 2 tps of quick yeast
  • 1 Tbs of sugar
  • 2 eggs (beaten)
  • a grind of salt to taste
  • 200mls of lukewarm water and
  • oil for kneading

Add all the dry ingredients into your food processor and process for five  seconds until completely combined. With the food processor running slowly add the eggs and then the water.  Process for about a minute until you have a thoroughly combined, wettish dough.

BR doughPlace the dough on the surface you’re going to use to knead.  Do NOT flour the surface, instead wipe it down with some oil of your choice, I like olive oil.

BR kneaded doughKnead the bread dough for ten minutes.  I set a timer to ensure I’m not lazy about it.  When you’re done kneading you should have a springy,smooth ball of dough. Place it in an oiled bowl and cover the bowl with cling film.  Leave in a warm place to rise for just over an hour or until doubled in size.

BR risen doughOnce the bread has doubled in size place it back on the kneading surface and knead for a further minute.  Shape the dough into the shape you want for your bread or place it in a loaf tin.  At this stage preheat your oven to 200°C.

BR dough in panCover the tin with the clingfilm and leave for about forty-five minutes to prove.

BR proved

Then place the bread in the oven and bake for forty minutes.  When you remove the bread from the oven and tap on its bottom, it should make a hollow sound to indicate it’s ready.

BR bakedRemove the bread from the load tin and allow the bread to cool slightly for about five minutes before you cut it.

BR cutSlice the bread and serve hot with lashings of butter.

9 Responses to “You Can’t Hurry Bread”

  1. Sìle December 2, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    If my efforts continue to yield good results, I might attempt your recipe. I don’t have a food blender so will have to hand mix and, as yet, I only knead for five minutes. Your bread does look tasty though.

    • fudgingood December 2, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      I’m sure mixing it by hand will work beautifully. Let me know how it works.

      • Sìle December 2, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

        Will do. 😀

  2. Cam December 4, 2012 at 6:23 am #

    I know what you mean about the finickiness of yeasty baked goods! I was finally able to successfully make bread with my sister guiding me but I still feel like it could go kaplooie at any moment. It’s like there’s some black box of magic that gets opened when you add yeast to the picture don’t you think? That loaf looks springy and yummy tho 🙂

    • fudgingood December 4, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      EXACTLY! 🙂
      Thanks, after so many disappointments, this loaf was a huge relief.

  3. createengwp December 7, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Looks so fluffy! Must try!!

  4. afracooking December 9, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Your bread looks beautiful, Such a lovely crumb – I can just smell the scent of it baking.

  5. Noughts-not-Crosses January 31, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    i’ve always wanted to try cooking bread, you’ve just made it seem so easy. Thanks

    • fudgingood January 31, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      It really is! Go for it and please share the results 🙂

Leave a Reply

oh.four.one.

the port elizabeth blogger

The Banting Cook

Banting recipes – low carb, sugar free and gluten free. Banting recipes I have tried - those that have failed and those that have been a success! I am not a dietician, I'm just a gal who loves to cook banting food, and keep it as good as possible! Obviously all recommendations throughout this and other posts are not intended as an alternative, treatment, or prevention of diseases, medical treatments or advice. The reader takes full responsibility for counting nutritional information such as carbs, while trying any and all recipes :-)

Primal Perks

Passionately sharing info about the paleo/primal, high fat/low carb diet and lifestyle

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

Mrs Stanton's Makes

Bake. Craft. Review. Create.

China through the Eyes of a Chinese-American.

Trying to make my difference in the world by teaching English in underdeveloped China for the next two years as a Teach for China Fellow.

Carlygrey

Photography and Adventure - Greater Things to Come

The epicurean kitten

Not what we have, but what we enjoy constitutes our abundance, Epicurus

Whole to the Core Blog

Being fit and healthy. Living the Abundant Life

Kate's Travel Tales

A technological advance on quill and ink on parchment in airmail envelopes

Love.Food.Asia.

the taste of asia

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

adorable life

eat,craft,travel,love...in short live your life and njoy

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Nourishing Jessica

People who love to eat are always the best people

LOOK WHAT I MADE ...

A handcrafted life is a happy life.

andcece

eat. sleep. adventure.

