Lemon French Toast with Cherry Sauce

27 May

I’m sure by now you’ve realised just how much I adore brunch.  Putting a proper cooked breakfast on the table shouts weekend, but I suppose because Monday to Friday it’s muesli, I like to show off experiment a lot more at the weekend.   Unfortunately, I had to dash out the door early on Sunday morning, so there wasn’t much too much time to muck about in the kitchen, so it had to something quick and easy, but something that still yelled weekend.   Weighing those up, it had to be French Toast. 

I had also been to a farmer’s market on the Saturday where I had foolishly bought my body weight in cherries.  Now I LOVE cherries and when I have them in the house I find excuses reasons to put them in EVERYTHING.  Now I suppose I could just have served them with the French toast, but that would hardly be blogworthy now would it?

For the sauce take:

  • 250gms of  fresh cherries
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2tsp corn flour
  • 4 Tbs granulated sugar
  • 300 mls of water

For the toast take

  • 5 eggs
  • 1/2 a slightly stale loaf of your favourite bread
  • 100 ml of milk
  • 1 tsp lemon essence
  • the zest of one lemon

Pit and halve the cherries and add to a small sauce pan with the sugar and cinnamon.  Add the corn flour to the water and mix thoroughly then add to the saucepan.  Place on a medium heat and bring to the boil.  Allow the sauce to reduce until thick and gorgeously syrupy.

Slice the bread  and then beat the eggs, milk, lemon essence and zest together in a large flat bottomed bowl.  Heat a splash of oil in a frying pan and then dip the bread into the egg mixture allowing it to soak up some of the egg mix.

Fry the egg dipped bread  in the oil until golden brown and delicious on both sides and then serve with the cherry sauce.

For added awesomeness, serve with some greek yoghurt or creme fraiche. My idea of heaven is to use this.

3 Responses to “Lemon French Toast with Cherry Sauce”

  1. madie May 27, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I’m just gonna have to make this!! I also am a big fan of the organic Greek style honey Yogurt! Yum-Yum!

  2. Kirsty July 17, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    This sounds delicious, I think I will have to try it. This morning I had waffles with banana, cherries and a drizzle of folder syrup. Amazing.

    • fudgingood July 19, 2012 at 8:03 am #

      That sounds so good! I love breakfasts that are more desert than anything else.

Leave a Reply

oh.four.one.

the port elizabeth blogger

The Banting Cook

Banting recipes – low carb, sugar free and gluten free. Banting recipes I have tried - those that have failed and those that have been a success! I am not a dietician, I'm just a gal who loves to cook banting food, and keep it as good as possible! Obviously all recommendations throughout this and other posts are not intended as an alternative, treatment, or prevention of diseases, medical treatments or advice. The reader takes full responsibility for counting nutritional information such as carbs, while trying any and all recipes :-)

Primal Perks

Passionately sharing info about the paleo/primal, high fat/low carb diet and lifestyle

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

Mrs Stanton's Makes

Bake. Craft. Review. Create.

China through the Eyes of a Chinese-American.

Trying to make my difference in the world by teaching English in underdeveloped China for the next two years as a Teach for China Fellow.

Carlygrey

Photography and Adventure - Greater Things to Come

The epicurean kitten

Not what we have, but what we enjoy constitutes our abundance, Epicurus

Whole to the Core Blog

Being fit and healthy. Living the Abundant Life

Kate's Travel Tales

A technological advance on quill and ink on parchment in airmail envelopes

Love.Food.Asia.

the taste of asia

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

adorable life

eat,craft,travel,love...in short live your life and njoy

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Nourishing Jessica

People who love to eat are always the best people

LOOK WHAT I MADE ...

A handcrafted life is a happy life.

Leni & Viv

Recipes, Cooking Tips, and Food Inspiration from Our House to Yours

