Rocky Road Fudge

25 Apr

Sometimes, when it’s been raining for too long, or payday is far away, or your relationship is yo-yo-ing, or as in my case, your family is miles away and it will be forever before you get to see them again, or any other time when life is in a teeth kicking mode, you NEED something that tastes of your childhood.  Something that will take you back to the kitchen giggles of when you were first discovering a love of cooking.  For me, it’s Rocky Road Fudge.

One bite into the soft, sweet marshmallow balanced with the crunchy roasted nuts, just held together with chocolate and I’m ten again.  This is one recipe I don’t really muck about with, I do my best to keep it exactly the way I first made it.  The only concession I make to the fact that I’m no longer ten, is that I now use two thirds dark chocolate.  The really great thing about this recipe is that it requires no special ingredients or equipment and it’s both quick and easy to make.  Making it perfect for the little ones.

Take:

1 tin of condensed milk

300gm of chocolate

2 cups of mixed nuts (I like hazel, walnut and almond)

150 gm of marshmallows

1 splash of vanilla essence

Before you begin, line a rectangular dish with baking paper and grease it.  Then put the nuts on a baking tray and let them gently toast at 180°C for about 15 – 20 mins.  Keep an eye on them to prevent them from catching.

While the nuts are filling the house with the scent of . . . well . . . nuts,  chop the chocolate in to even sized chunks so that it will melt evenly.

Before you melt the chocolate mix the nuts and marshmallows into a bowl.  I must confess to a little lie at this point, there is one other thing that I’ve changed since childhood.  I now use mini marshmallows.    We used to spend an eternity snipping regular sized marshmallows into bits, but honestly why do it if you don’t have to.

Now melt the chocolate.  If you’re working with a little one, you can melt the chocolate in the microwave.  I prefer melting it in a glass bowl over water because it makes me feel like I really know what I’m doing.

Once the chocolate has melted, quickly whisk in the condensed milk and the vanilla and then scrape the chocolate mix on top of the waiting marshmallows and nuts.  Using a wooden spoon, mix them all up together.  The sound of this, the nuts mixing together, is where this dish apparently got its name.  Once the marshmallows and nuts are evenly coated, pour into the lined dish and press down with the wooden spoon.

Now it the time to practice your patience.  Pop it in the fridge and leave it for at least an hour, until it has set.   Then pull it out of the tray using the parchment paper and slice into fudge sized bites.

Now, if we’re going to be honest, these babies, while munchish and morish, are never going to win any beauty awards, but display them on a on a glass stand and let their taste win the hearts of even the chews-iest of folk.  Because, trust me, they will.

2 Responses to “Rocky Road Fudge”

  1. sushicurious April 28, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Excellent – peppermint crisp tart is my rocky road

    • fudgingood April 30, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Ohh, I love peppermint crisp tart. I see a trek to a South African store in my future.

Leave a Reply

oh.four.one.

the port elizabeth blogger

The Banting Cook

Banting recipes – low carb, sugar free and gluten free. Banting recipes I have tried - those that have failed and those that have been a success! I am not a dietician, I'm just a gal who loves to cook banting food, and keep it as good as possible! Obviously all recommendations throughout this and other posts are not intended as an alternative, treatment, or prevention of diseases, medical treatments or advice. The reader takes full responsibility for counting nutritional information such as carbs, while trying any and all recipes :-)

Primal Perks

Passionately sharing info about the paleo/primal, high fat/low carb diet and lifestyle

With All My Affection

A Montreal Lifestyle Blog

Mrs Stanton's Makes

Bake. Craft. Review. Create.

China through the Eyes of a Chinese-American.

Trying to make my difference in the world by teaching English in underdeveloped China for the next two years as a Teach for China Fellow.

Carlygrey

Photography and Adventure - Greater Things to Come

The epicurean kitten

Not what we have, but what we enjoy constitutes our abundance, Epicurus

Whole to the Core Blog

Being fit and healthy. Living the Abundant Life

Kate's Travel Tales

A technological advance on quill and ink on parchment in airmail envelopes

Love.Food.Asia.

the taste of asia

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

adorable life

eat,craft,travel,love...in short live your life and njoy

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Nourishing Jessica

People who love to eat are always the best people

LOOK WHAT I MADE ...

A handcrafted life is a happy life.

Leni & Viv

Recipes, Cooking Tips, and Food Inspiration from Our House to Yours

